Aprons and Chocolate Chip Scones

Aprons are Awesome

You know since this is my online journal, I’ll just spit it out.

Aprons.

I love them.

I mean, I know that they are seen as a misogynistic symbol of women’s bondage to the home from the 1950’s, but DANG.

They are useful.

Okay, a little about me. I am as low matience as they come. Well, I shower and generally try to take care of myself, but I don’t wear make-up every day and I don’t do my hair every day.

Except my hair is a pixie cut right now, so not like anyone could tell.

Anyways, I only like to get dressed ONCE. And I don’t like changing my clothes thirty times a day. If I change into my PJ’s, thats it. I’m home for the day.

Here’s where the aprons come in. I would get dressed in the morning, but I have a notoriously bad habit of wiping my hands on my jeans or whatever is close. By the time we decide to leave the house, I look like I have lost a fight with a Kitchen-Aid.

Snot, flour, other unmentionable crud is strewn all over my person.

And because I like to get out of the door as quickly as possible, and apron was the perfect solution.

A little history on the Apron:
did you know that originally Aprons were used because it was easier to wash an apron (like hand wash in a tub of water) than to wash a dress all of the time. Dress could (and often were) worn several times before they had to be washed because it was such a pain in the rear to wash them.

Hence Aprons.

So I’ve become a convert. I wear an apron all morning while I am making breakfast, doing dishes and various other chores around the house. When I am done with the messy stuff, I can take it off and VOLIA, I am relatively presentable.

This way I don’t have to change my clothes anymore than I have to. It still chafs my tender soul to change for a work out, but I really hate stinky smelly clothes and I don’t have enough PJs to wear them for workout clothes as well. Sigh.

Anyways, It is raining here so here is an Awesome Chocolate Chip Scone recipe I found from the website Sally’s Baking Addiction. She gives a ton of tips for baking scones and they turned out AMMAAAZZZZING. I just ate one and I want another.

I think rain calls for sitting by my wood stove and reading books until I am comatose. Think my kids will go for that?

Leave a Reply

