Tuna Melt

After I was done in college I was able (and luckily enough) to take a trip in Europe. I went to Vienna, Salzburg, Prague and Munich. It was AAAAAAHHH-MAZING.

One of the first place we went after we landed in Salzburg was a little chain deli. I remember the experience vividly because I was freaked out by being in a country were I didn’t speak a word of the language and we were trying to order some lunch.

Whatever I ordered they were out of, luckily my friend was able to understand enough German to get that. I was completely clueless.

So I quickly picked something else that would work, a Tuna sandwich, even though Tuna wasn’t my favorite. I was able to get the message across and the language crisis was over. Whew.

I used to panic a lot when I was first figuring out the world in my twenties. Especially when I traveled. Living in the UK for a year was enough to give me panic attacks for MONTHS before I moved there.

Anyway, back to the story.

To my surprise, I really liked the Tuna Melt. I wasn’t used to tuna sandwiches hot with melted cheese on top. The only problem was it was slightly cold in the middle, but there is no way with my insufficient German to be able to make any kind of complaint.

Since then I do like a good tuna melt every once in a while. Maybe just to fix it the right way.

Here is my favorite way to make them:

Tuna Melts
1 biggish serving

2 slices of whole wheat bread (thick sliced if possible)
1 tomato, thinly sliced
1 can of white tuna
1/2 tablespoon of mayo
1 tsp dill pickle relish
1/2 tsp lemon juice
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup cheddar cheese
butter

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Butter the bread and place it butter side down on a baking sheet. Place the thinly sliced tomato on the bread in a single layer. Set aside.

Mix tuna, mayo, relish, lemon juice and salt in a small bowl. Adjust the mayo to get it the consistency you like. Some people like it drier and other like it more moist, so keep an eye on that.

Spread the tuna mixture on the bread. Then sprinkle the sandwiches with the cheese. Once again, use as much as you prefer. I like a generous amount so I use all the cheese and then some. 🙂

Let bake in the oven for about 5 minutes or until the cheese is melted and the bread looks toasty. Keep an eye on it, so it doesn’t burn.

If you prefer sweet relish, feel free to substitute. I personally think sweet pickle relish taste like poo, but that is just a preference.

This is one of my favorite lunches to make when I don’t have any leftovers to eat. It is filling, cheap and easy. Yummy!

 

Also every time I make it, I have fond memories of travelling in Europe with some good friends. That is worth remembering.

Leave a Reply

