Hot Cocoa Mix – For Dummies

 

My hubby can’t cook. No really. He says that it is a lot of work for 7 seconds of eating. He doesn’t love food as much as I do. That 7 seconds of eating, especially if it is perfection is TOTALLY worth it.

It surprised me when he found out we were out of hot chocolate mix that he hopped on the internet and found a recipe. I am the one who usually does that around here (please see my ridiculous Pintrest board for evidence)

I, of course, put in my two cents while he was making it and we came up with this recipe.

Hot Cocoa Mix for Dummies

Adapted from: http://www.amykayskitchen.com/diy-hot-chocolate-mix-without-dry-milk-powder/

1 Cup Cocoa Powder (We like Hershey’s Special Dark for this, or anything Dutch Processed)

1/4 cup sugar

1 cup chocolate chips

2 TBS cornstarch

1/4 tsp salt

pinch of cayenne pepper

Method

Add all the ingredients to a food processor and pulse until the chocolate chips are finely chopped and everything is mixed.

Store in an air tight container.

To make hot chocolate: warm up 1 cup of milk. Add 2 1/2 TBSP of mix and a few drops of vanilla (if desired) and mix well.

We like DARK hot chocolate. If there is more sugar than chocolate, we don’t want it. So if you want it sweeter, please feel free to up the sugar. In my opinion milk chocolate is just wimpy chocolate. Bring on the DARK.

If my Hubby can do it, anyone can. Enjoy your hot chocolate.

 

PS. My Hubby is a wonderful father, husband and provider. He has many talents, fixes just about anything for me, but he just isn’t interested in cooking. Hence the reason I do most of it. I love food. A lot. A LOT. I think if I didn’t like cooking so much, he would do more. The end.

Leave a Reply

