Sunday Nights – Eggs’n’Sweet Taters

Sunday nights are crazy around here.

Hubby has meetings start at 9am (or earlier), so he is gone about then. Church doesn’t start until 12:30pm, but choir starts at 11:30, leaving me to get ready and get three little boys ready in 2 1/2 hours. Bleck.

Church is three hours convincing the baby that all the toys I brought are interesting or walking the halls trying to get him to go to sleep. I haven’t sat through an entire Sunday School or Relief Society lesson in AGES. Hubby has his own responsibilities, so he can only do so much.

I divide my time between the baby and the 3 year old who is refusing to go to his Primary class. If I leave him, he BAWLS until I come back. Sigh…

Luckily Hubby is pretty good about holding the baby while I deal with the 3 year old.

By the time we get home, its about 4 pm, too late for a nap, too early for bed and Hubby won’t be home for at least an hour or so. The kids are running around, expelling all the pent up energy from having no naps and sitting still for 3 hours. Usually screaming the entire time.

I love church, but church with small kids is EXHAUSTING. At least I get to take the Sacrament and chat with people in the halls. 🙂

I don’t like to plan an elaborate Roast Sunday Dinner (Although I do occasionally). I am too busy in the morning to throw something in Crock-pot (all though Frozen Crockpot Dinners are awesome for this) and after church I’m too tired, and frankly hungry.

This is one of my Sunday Night Dinners. No planning, it takes about half an hour, and tastes AWESOME.

Sweet Potatos and Eggs

Eggs’n’Sweet Taters

Adapted from: http://makealongstoryshort.net/2013/01/meals-for-not-much-all-together-egg-and-chips/ 

2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into fries.

4 eggs

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp chili powder

2 or 3 TBSP oil

salt and pepper.

Method:

Preheat oven to 425º F.

Place the Sweet Potatoes in a container (like a zip-top bag or a bowl if you wanna be eco friendly). Add enough oil to coat the potatoes, then salt, pepper, cumin and chili powder. Toss to coat.

Place a bit of oil on a rimmed baking sheet, enough to cover it lightly. You can even use a spray oil if you’d like. Add the sweet potatoes and bake for about 25 mins. Keep an eye on them, burned sweet potatoes are GROSS.

When the sweet potatoes are almost done, make space between the fries and crack four eggs directly onto the pan. Let bake for 5 more minutes or until the eggs are firm. I like mine yolks runny and the whites firm, and that takes about 5 minutes.

Enjoy!

I like to stuff all of my portion, fries, eggs and all onto toasted bread to make a sandwich, with a little bit of ketchup.  Or you could eat it with a salad, but where is the fun in that??

 

So I realized this post is a little of a downer. Well I’m tired. Its been a week, what with the 3yrold pooping in the pool, cancelling swimming lessons and Webelos running me ragged. And I think I worked out too much….Time for a rest movie cheat do nothing day.

 

Leave a Reply

