Baby…weight part 2 – Banana Nut Muffin Oatmeal

Guess what!!

I’ve lost 10 pounds. YAY!!

Before Pic
Before
Down 10 pounds
Down 10 pounds

I’m so excited about that. Losing weight is hard. Especially when it has been a crappy day and the kids have run me ragged and the Hubby is out of town. All I want is a large bowl of ice cream. And I’ll be honest, some days I indulge.

Only twenty more pounds to go before I am pre-baby weight. Although if I only lose ten more, I think I’ll be happy enough. I’m trying to keep weight loss in perspective and not get too caught up in the numbers, but more in how I feel.

That is why instead of counting calories, I try to just eat healthy most of the time. 80/20 rule. I eat as healthy as possible for 80% of the time and unhealthy 20%. The healthier I eat, the better I feel. Also it really helps with depression.

Exercise helps too. This morning I discovered a beginner Tai Chi video on Youtube, and that sucka rocks your abs. You have to hold in your abs the entire time to maintain your balance. Awesome.

So here is what I have been eating for breakfast lately. I actually made this up on my own, no help for any other blog. (what, no starting recipe?? Who am I becoming??)

I hate plain oatmeal. Really hate it. It is gluey, sticky and icky. (ooo, that rhymes!) But I also hate adding brown sugar or sugar to it. Then it is gluey, sticky AND sickly sweet. Blargh.

Then I came up with this:

Banana Nut Muffin Oatmeal

makes 1 huge serving or 2 smaller servings

1/2 cup oatmeal (or this seven grain cereal is nice)

1 cup water

1/4 tsp salt

1 banana (fairly ripe)

1/4 cup chopped toasted walnuts

1/4 cup milk (I use whole milk, but almond or low-fat milk works too)

a small pat of butter

a splash of vanilla

Optional 1-2 TBSP chocolate chips

For creamy oatmeal: mix the oatmeal, water and in a small saucepan, then bring it to a boil. (For chewier oatmeal: boil the water and salt, then add the oatmeal) I let it boil over medium until almost all the liquid is gone (about 5 minutes) and the oatmeal is soft, then turn it down to low.

Then add the banana and mash it with the back of your spoon, a potato masher, or whatever. Then add the milk and walnuts and cook it until it is just warm. Then add the butter and vanilla.

Remove from heat, then add the chocolate chips if using. (and seriously, use the freakin’ chocolate chips.)

Serve!

I love this. I usually like mine creamy, so I leave just a bit of liquid in the oatmeal. It is sweet without being cloying and has TONS of flavor. There isn’t any added sugar in this, as the banana and vanilla sweeten it perfectly. Unless of course you add the chocolate chips. Which I usually do. Because I like chocolate. A lot.

I eat this most mornings, especially when I wake up craving a donuts or something really sweet and cake-like. It solves that craving without all the added sugar and calories. Also it holds me most of the morning, so I’m not dying for lunch later.

What are you waiting for? Go make it!

2 thoughts on “Baby…weight part 2 – Banana Nut Muffin Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

