Baked Eggplant Parmesan – Pregnancy Woes, cont.

Is this pregnancy OVER yet???

Not really, but kind of. I get really, REALLY big when I am pregnant. I’m already big and I still have 3 months to go. Sigh…

All of the sudden my pregnant body decided that meat was out of the question.

We were working on Potty training the 2yr old, when I decided, as a reward, we would go out to Red Robin (hubby was out of town). I got my very favorite Bleu Cheese burger, with BBQ sauce and onion straws. I ate the whole thing and most of my fries. (no comments on how I’m not supposed to eat bleu cheese whilst pregnant. I know)

We left shortly after because the 4 yr old and the 2 yr old were no longer full, and determined to make a mess of Red Robin. Those looks of “Oh how cute” from the other customers were about to change to “Why isn’t she controlling her children??”

I paid and got everyone in the car when it hit me. My stomach was rolling and heartburn was kicking in. I was SO SICK.

Ever since then meat has been questionable. I have eaten those breaded chicken patties and breaded chicken tenders, as long as there is a giant salad to go with it. But beef? Getouttahere.

Anything too greasy is out of the question. That includes too much cheese, but I can handle some, as long as I don’t overdo it. Also, overeating will immediately make me sick. And too much sugar.

So now I am forced to eat healthy, which isn’t necessarily bad.

A couple of weeks ago I got two GIANT eggplants in my Bountiful Basket, and I immediately though: Eggplant Parmesan.

I LOVE Eggplant Parmesan. To the point that I almost prefer it (as long as it is done right) to chicken parm. And I like breaded, lightly fried chicken. With all my heart (why can’t we live closer to an Ikea? I need those chicken strips, STAT)

I busily got on Pintrest and found this recipe: http://laurassweetspot.com/2013/04/04/baked-eggplant-parmesan/ 

Normally, I would post it here and add my revisions, but I honestly didn’t do any revisions. This recipe was AWESOME. The only thing I did different is I fried the eggplant instead of baking it. And I didn’t let it stand for an hour. I just used paper towels and pressed as much of the liquid out of the eggplant as I could. It worked just fine.

Also, MAKE THE SAUCE. The gal on the blog said that canned works just as well, and I disagree. That sauce is one of my favorite tomato sauce recipes in the world right now.

So I made this, a huge 9 x 13 pan of it while my husband was still out of town. I ate it for dinner, lunch, dinner, and lunch. My 2 yr old LOVED it so much that he tried to eat all of mine when I wasn’t looking. Luckily I have one child that will eat just about anything.

I just served it with some whole wheat spaghetti that you can get from Costco. YUM. I am craving it right now. I might have to make it again, just for me. And my 2 yr old. We are the only two people who will eat it. Hubby doesn’t like eggplant and the 4 yr old only eats tortilla chips.

Tonight, I am attempting a Eggplant Parmesan SUB. Doesn’t that sound good?

Hubby and the kids are getting Italian Shredded beef on subs instead. Someday meat will sound good again, but for now I am happy with my eggplant.

Leave a Reply

