Bacon Asparagus Pasta

I like to plan my menus a month at a time (right before my monthly trip to Costco) and I usually drag my poor husband into the process. I ended up doing it at the last possible moment (in this case Sunday night at about 9:30pm, a half an hour past our bedtime). We were both cranky and tired after a long Sunday.

 

We always look through old monthly menus, various cookbooks and Pintrest. At the very end of the planning session (when we were both exhausted and starting to snip at each other) I stumbled across this recipe on Pintrest. I had some asparagus in the fridge and some bacon in the freezer, so I decided to give it a whirl. I decided to add a few ingredients and adjust the cooking process a bit. It was REALLY good.

 

I think I might end up eating the rest of that later tonight….maybe its a good thing Hubby is out of town again.

 

 

So this actually has been sitting in my fridge for about an hour or so, but it still looks DELICIOUS.
So this actually has been sitting in my fridge for about an hour or so, but it still looks DELICIOUS.

Bacon Asparagus Pasta

Original recipe link: http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/5-ingredient-bacon-asparagus-pasta-recipe/

Ingredients

1/2 pound of linguine (I just used whole wheat spaghetti for this)

1/2 pound washed, trimmed asparagus cut into bite size pieces

1/2 pound bacon, cut into bite sized pieces (about 8 slices)

1 tomato, diced

1 tsp minced garlic

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

salt and pepper to taste

1 cup chicken broth

1 tsp lemon juice

1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese (shredded)

Method

Boil the linguine according to the package direction.

Cook the bacon in a large skillet on medium high heat until crisp. When the bacon is done, use a slotted spoon to remove it to a plate off to the side. Leave as much of the bacon grease as POSSIBLE (yum). Add the asparagus and garlic and let cook for about 3-4 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste. (you can omit the salt if you want, because the bacon will add a bunch of saltiness. I have some bacon from a butcher that isn’t NEARLY as salty as the stuff you get from store. In fact it is hardly salty at all. It is quite tasty!)

Add the tomatoes and red pepper flakes and let cook for a few minutes. Add the chicken broth and lemon juice, deglazing the pan in the processes, and cook until the liquid reduces by about half.

Drain the pasta and add to the asparagus and chicken broth in the skillet. Add the bacon too. Toss to coat. Sprinkle the Parmesan cheese on top and toss again. If you want, you can add some more red pepper flakes to taste.

 

This was really good. For someone who skipped lunch it was a hard not to eat the entire dish. I’m going to go polish it off while I watch “Royal Pains” on Netflix.

We have wild and crazy nights around here! At least the kids were worn out by going to the pool earlier today, so they won’t be around. Just me, my TV, name indexing and left over Bacon, Asparagus Pasta. Heaven.

One thought on “Bacon Asparagus Pasta

Leave a Reply

