Beans, Beans the magical FRUIT. And a Yummy Salsa recipe.

Beans are a vegetable now. I’m not sure how I feel about that, but it does mean that I now eat WAAAAAAY more vegetables.

We eat a lot of beans. They are cheap and everyone likes them, so it is a win-win situation.

But I’m going to talk about how cheap they can be.

 

Buy dried beans. No seriously. You will save a TON of money.

25 pounds of black beans run about 28 dollars or so. (so about a 1$ a pound for my horrible math skills)

a pound of dried black beans makes about 8 cups of cooked beans (true story!)

1 Can of black beans holds about 1 1/2 cups of cooked beans.

1 can of black beans costs about 75 cents.

So if you make a pound of dried black beans cost a dollar and makes 5 TIMES as much beans.

It costs (if you buy in bulk) about 13 cents to make the same amount in a can of beans. Which costs 75 cents. (I think. Please don’t correct my math, I’m positive I got something wrong….)

DON”T BUY CANNED AGAIN.

I have a pressure cooker that it awesome for making beans. I ran over to a Cash and Carry and bought some small plastic containers that hold about as much beans as a can would. (a little more actually) So after I make the 8 cups of beans, I put them in the freezer in nice small packages so I can whip them out and nuke them in the microwave for about a minute or so to defrost them.

If you don’t have a pressure cooker, you can cook them in your slow cooker. It takes about 6 hours if you do it on high and if you don’t soak them. Use a quart of water per cup of beans. They have better texture and less, um, internal discomfort if you soak them. (Gas. I’m talking about flatulence.)

After they are defrosted I like to smash them in olive oil and garlic for a black bean paste that is pretty tasty in taquitos or tacos. Or on a wrap. Mmmmmm….

Here is a recipe for black bean burgers that I CAN’T get enough of. I would copy it over, but I didn’t make any adjustments and I try not to steal people’s recipes outright…

These burgers are yummy and perfectly paired with sweet potato fries. We like ours with smashed Avacado and salsa. I make my own pico de gallo.

Em’s Pico de Gallo

3 vine ripened tomatoes, diced

1/2 a large onion, diced

1 jalapeno, diced (more if you like spicy, less if you have littlies that will be eating it)

1 TBS Lime Juice

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp sugar

1/2 bunch of cilantro, diced.

Mix all ingredients together and let sit in your fridge for a couple of hours to let the flavours meld. I have made this twice in the last week and a half. YUM. Hubby won’t eat it though. The tomatoes and onions are too big. He really doesn’t like tomatoes and onions. Shame.

One thought on “Beans, Beans the magical FRUIT. And a Yummy Salsa recipe.

Leave a Reply

