How I don’t gain a million pounds by eating all this food. Stay at Home Workouts!

I love food. REALLY love food. Good food. Not processed pre-made crap that you buy at the store. I like made-from-scratch, full-fat, butter-heavily-involved FOOD.

I also love crisp veggies, sweet fresh fruit and pretty much you name it I love it. (actually it took me some effort to like veggies, but I do now)

How on earth do I not weigh a million pounds?

Well, I don’t eat a lot of refined sugar. That actually has more to do with sugar making me physically ill rather than losing weight. I seriously have to limit my sugar intake or I get really cranky and really tired. I don’t have time for that. Also, we eat vegetarian three times a week. Did I mention that I am lactose intolerant? Good-bye dairy and ice cream…

I also work out five days a week for about an hour.

I like feeling STRONG. Where I can lift anything, do anything with out feeling too weak to keep going. I really wish I could do a gym member ship, but the ones closest to our house don’t have day care, so I would have to go at either 5:30 in the morning (which is hard for me to do) or at 7pm at night after the kids are in bed (I am usually too exhausted). They do have day care ones in the large city about 30 miles away, but we can’t afford the gas+gym membership to drive 30 miles three days a week.

Instead, I do this:

Right now on Amazon Prime there are several Jillian Micheal’s work out video’s available.

I do one 25-30 min. Jillian Micheal’s work out video (shred it with weights, Yoga Melt down or 6 week 6 pack abs, alternating between level 1 and level 2) then do a 30 min. workout on the Wii fit, that usually includes the jogging in place one for about 20 of those minutes. I do this Monday-Tuesday-Wednesday.

On Thursday, I’m usually pretty worn out from the week and the workouts so I do a cardo workout for an hour to let my muscles recover a little. I have a Billy Blanks Taebo cardio dvd that works really well. There is also a Billy Blanks Jr. video on Amazon Prime right now that is about 35 min. Then I do some more cardio on Wii Fit.

Then on Friday I do one of Jillian Micheal’s hour long videos (No more Trouble Zones or Banish Fat, Metabolism Burning Workout). Those are killer. REALLY killer.

Weights are a little out of our price range (they can run from 35-100 bucks for a full set) so let me show you what I use instead:

wpid-wp-1398441573537.jpg

Did you know that these make GREAT adjustable weights? I fill it with water and use my food scale to see how heavy it is. I actually want to buy a bag of sand to be able to get them even heavier and not splash water every where. There is a wet patch on my living room carpet right now…

I have some bigger laundry detergent containers that I use in place of kettle balls. Works like a charm!

On Saturday and Sunday, I don’t do a formal workout. Saturdays we usually work in the yard or do other work around the house or shopping. Honestly, it just gets to be too much. According to the articles I have read on Pintrest (yup that doesn’t mean its legit) you really should allow your body two days a week to recover. Otherwise you are going to get injuries.

Also, switch up what you are doing. As different workouts become available on Amazon Prime, I switch it up. I also have an hour long yoga video I enjoy doing from time to time. This is mostly because I get bored, but also because your body will get comfortable if you do the same thing every day and quit building muscle and burning extra calories.

As I have been doing this, I have slowly lost about 6-10 pounds. When I say slowly, I really mean its been about 4 months. The thing I really measure is how strong I am getting. Like I can hold that crescent pose for an entire circuit rather than having to fake it half the time. I can do thirty push ups (YAY) rather than the not being able to do ten when I started. The weight really isn’t the goal here, it is getting stronger. Being able to do more.

I love feeling empowered like that.

 

3 thoughts on “How I don’t gain a million pounds by eating all this food. Stay at Home Workouts!

    1. I use cloth diapers, and I read somewhere online that Tide is a good laundry detergent to use? I’m not sure it worked any better than the other stuff I was using…It was a warning to Hubby not to touch the laundry detergent…the three times a year he does laundry! 🙂

Leave a Reply

