Preschool Woes

A few weeks ago I took my kids to a “Kid Find” where they do some basic developmental testing for kids ages 0-6. I had actually been feeling for a while that #1 was a little behind in speech development, but my doctor kept say “Oh he’ll figure it out”. Whelp, he wasn’t.

To my surprise, both of my kids were behind in speech. Luckily the school district have free programs available for 3-5 and the federal government has a program for 0-3, so I don’t have to pay a dime.

#1 kept throwing tantrums during the behavioral session, so last week they called me and asked if they could start #1 in preschool for kids with special needs for an evaluation (by the way special needs can also be speech therapy). I was a little shocked. My little baby boy going to preschool?? HE’S TOO YOUNG!!

I really wasn’t expecting that until he was at least four and they want him to come 4 days a week for 2 1/2 hours.

So I took him in on Monday with a little trepidation.

The school is actually excellent. The teachers love the kids and they help them learn different things he will need for school in a year and a half. They also have a speech therapist and a occupational therapist coming in three days a week to work with the kids in small groups or one on one. The afternoon class (which is the one #1 is in) only has 4 other kids, so it is really nice.

Right now it is just an evaluation to see if he actually needs the help. I hope that even if he doesn’t get into the preschool we can still arrange for session with the school’s speech therapist.

I felt a little bit of a failure as a mom when I found out about all of this, but some kids just need a little extra umph to help. I honestly know nothing about child development besides what my doctor or Pintrest tells me. And I know those aren’t all-inclusive. I needed some help without going back to school for my early childhood education degree! I just don’t have time to do extensive research on child development right now!!!

Overwhelmed has been a main feeling for this week. What with my yard, preschool and the numerous Easter parties we hit up this week we are BUSY. Not to mention that I volunteered to take a lady at church a dinner after her surgery. Oh, and I have to give a talk in Sacrament meeting at church on the Resurrection and teach a lesson about the Passover and sing in the choir. (By the way, we don’t have clergy that preach every Sunday, sometimes the leaders of our Church give a talk, but usually they asked people in the congregation to give talks on a given topic)

But Hubby did get me some BEAUTIFUL flowers.

I love getting flowers
I love getting flowers

Anyone else feeling a little overwhelmed?

Leave a Reply

