Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

I think Hubby is getting sick of the vegetarian meals. Actually that is being to mean to him. He is gamely eating whatever I cook (he is awesome that way. One of the reasons I LOVE him.)

But last night I got out a couple of T-bone steaks intending to make beef fajitas. Hubby was drooling and offered to grill them, so I plopped them in a marinade. Fries and Salad completed the meal. It was a grand dinner, but I only ate about half a steak. I shared the rest of it with the kids and hubby ate entire t-bone by himself and picked the bones.

Honestly, I could be a vegetarian. That scares Hubby. Luckily for him I can’t live without Five Guys and I can eat my weight in chicken strips and fries from Ikea. It’ll never happen.

One recipe that we have both enjoyed is this Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili. I love the combination of Sweet Potato, Black Beans and Cumin. It is just smokey and sweet and spicy all at once. Yummy. And healthy, if you care about that kind of thing! You can also add chicken to give it a bit of meat, but I personally liked it without. I am on that dangerous road to vegetarianism!!!

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili
Olive oil
1 medium-large sweet potato, peeled and diced
1 large onion diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons chili powder
Pinch of cayenne
½ teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 ½ cups chicken broth (or vegetable if you are going vegetarian)
1 15-ounce cans black beans, rinsed (or about 2 cups of cooked beans if you make yours from dried like me)
1 14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes
½ cup dried quinoa
4 teaspoons lime juice
serving suggestions: avocado, cilantro, sour cream, cheese

Heat up some olive oil in a large pan. Add the onion and sweet potato and cook until the onion is soft about 5 minutes or so. Then add the spices and stir to combine.
Add the broth, black beans, tomatoes and quinoa. Cook for 10-15 minutes or until the sweet potato is soft and the quinoa is cooked. At the last minute add the lime juice.

We ate this with tortilla chips and it was DELICIOUS. This is one we will definately keep in our recipe book.

MMmMMmMMmMm….

Leave a Reply

