Coconut Curry Noodles to burn your face off…at least we thought so!

We’ve had colds all weekend. Bummer, right? We missed church yesterday and everything (except Hubby…) I hear the guy who taught my Sunday School Class used a ton of media and brought his HUGE flat screen TV for videos. I am shooting daggers at him in my mind for trying to upstage me. I know where you LIVE!!!

Just kidding, I hear he did an awesome job. Commendations all around.

But I’m not bringing in our (tiny) flat screen TV for videos. I have two little kids to haul to church, I ain’t hauling a 26inch TV too. (Okay, maybe I’m just a little jealous….)

 

Back to the story.

I was pretty much flat out yesterday, but today was a little better. Mostly thanks to a good nights sleep (thank you children’s Tylenol) and copious amounts of water. I felt up to making this Coconut Curry Soup. Luckily it was spicy enough to clear any nasal passage.

 

Coconut Curry Noodles

Ingredients:

1 Bell Pepper, cut into thin strips

2 or 3 carrots, peeled and sliced into thin strips

1 head of Broccoli, sliced

1 Head of baby Bok Choy

1/2 cup Curry paste (see recipe below)

1 can lite coconut milk

2 cup chicken broth

Tofu

Noodles of choice or rice

Cilantro

soy sauce (or fish sauce…I’m told fish sauce is more authentic, but it is also horrendously expensive in the armpit of Montana), to taste

Earlier in the day, press your tofu (I use a paper towel, a plate and a can of whatever I have around, beans, tomatoes, whatever.) then cube it and let it marinate in the coconut milk and about half the curry paste. Let it marinate for about 30mins or so…

 

Step One: Cook noodles according to the package directions. I just used thin whole wheat noodles. You could also just use rice. Basmati would be nice!

 

Step Two: Drizzle a bit of olive oil into your pan and empty the other half the curry paste into the pan. Mix them up and let those two really get to know each other.

 

Step Three: Add 2 cups chicken broth Add the carrots and broccoli and bring to a boil.  Cover and let cook…but only for like a minute. Nobody likes mushy carrots.

 

Step Four: Add the can of coconut milk (and tofu/curry paste) and the peppers and bok choy.

 

Step Five: Add about 1/4 cup of soy sauce into the mix. In a bowl, put a decent helping of noodles (or rice). Then ladle on some of that delicious sauce and veggies right over the noodles. Top with cilantro. Add more soy sauce if desired. Serve with yogurt to help your trembling digestive system.

By the way, I really liked the tofu in this recipe. I will have to use it in curries more often.

Curry Paste Recipe:

1 inch fresh ginger, peeled and chopped

1/4 cup garlic, minced

1/2 small onion

1/4 cup curry powder

1/4 cup cayenne pepper (SERIOUSLY, I WILL CUT THIS DOWN TO 1 TBSP NEXT TIME)

Put all ingredients in the food processor and zoom it a couple of times. Then add a little bit of water or oil, enough to make a paste. (I used a little bit of both) This will make about twice as much curry paste as you will need, so save half in the fridge or chuck the other half in the freezer for another day.

It was so spicy we could only take bites between huge gulps of milk. Next time I will go easy on the cayenne. My digestive system already hates me and we just finished dinner half an hour ago…..

Also, this Curry paste recipe is more of an Indian Curry paste, so it made it taste a little more southern Indian than actual Thai. We didn’t care. It had FANTASTIC flavor, minus the extra burn. I think I will serve the left overs with Rice and a healthy dollop of plain Greek yogurt.

The really scary thing is, no matter how spicy this was for us, my old roommate from India would have taken one bite and say, “Hm, this is mild”. Once she made a curry that was so spicy you teared up just being in the room where she was making it. My Taiwanese roommate had to leave because she was crying so hard she couldn’t see.

My Indian roommate is the reason I now get heartburn…Well that and pregnancy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

