Women in the Priesthood

I didn’t think this blog would turn out, well, as serious as it did. It gets its title from the stuff I cook on and in my stove  and what I am cooking in my brain. Somehow it spills out onto the page and I have said something I didn’t even start out to say. But it needs to be said.

In my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, we have something called the Priesthood. We consider it the power of God on earth. All people, men, women and children are eligible to have the Priesthood in there lives. But there is a hitch that has caused some controversy in the past.

Men are actually the ordained (meaning they are appointed or conferred to an office) to hold the authority of the Priesthood, where as women have other responsibilities.

This means that men are responsible to give blessings, preform or oversee the performance of ordinances (like the Sacrament, which is kind of like Mass, baptism, as well as marriage in the temple and other ordinances preformed in the temple). They have the job of making sure the ordinances are done correctly and by worthy holders of the Priesthood. (You cannot use the priesthood if you are not worthy!!!) Check out this article about the Priesthood that comes straight from my church’s website.

Women have other responsibilities in the church, including providing valuable perspectives for the men. Women have been in charge of all kinds of things, mostly to do with food, clothing and other basic necessities. Their advice is also taken in many (if not ALL) major decisions made in the Church. Possibly including whether or not women are ordained to the priesthood.

Elder Neil L Anderson said, the last General Conference:

Twenty years ago in general conference, Elder M. Russell Ballard related a conversation he had with the general president of the Relief Society. There was a question raised about strengthening the worthiness of youth preparing to serve missions. Sister Elaine Jack said with a smile, “You know, Elder Ballard, the [women] of the Church may have some good suggestions … if they [are] asked. After all, … we are their mothers!”25

There is a protest that is going to happen where a VERY SMALL group of women from my church are going to petition the Prophet (or leader) of my church to allow the women to be ordained to the Priesthood, exactly like the men.

WHY ON EARTH WOULD THEY WANT THAT?

Honestly, it would just mean that they get WAAAAAAAAAAYYYYY more responsibilities and are under WAAAAAAAAYYYYY more pressure than they already are. It is considered the job of the women to teach children in the home about the gospel, to care for the home (with, of course, the help of the man), not to mention the callings (we are asked to help out in our church by being ‘called’. I teach the Sunday School (Gospel Doctrine) class to the adults every Sunday), helping the poor in the ward, visiting teaching, etc!!! The women are up to their eyeballs in work. We don’t need that extra job. It is the MEN’s job, and I am totally okay with that. I don’t need more to do than I already do!!!

Another complaint is from women who do not have a priesthood holder (aka a man who is active in our church) in their home, for whatever reason. That does NOT mean that they cannot have their priesthood in their home.

Elder Anderson also said:

“To receive the blessings, power, and promises of the priesthood in this life and the next is one of the great opportunities and responsibilities of mortality. As we are worthy, the ordinances of the priesthood enrich our lives on earth and prepare us for the magnificent promises of the world ahead. The Lord said, “In the ordinances … the power of godliness is manifest.”3

A man who holds the priesthood in our church, just administers the priesthood. He is NOT the priesthood. The Priesthood is the power of God and everyone can have that in their life regardless of gender, race or age.

I feel like these women are throwing giant tantrums over something that, in the end, isn’t very important. I am not less than a man. Neither am I better than a man. So why on EARTH would I want to throw a fit saying, “I want what you have AND what I have, because I am equal!!”

That doesn’t sound like equality. It sounds like these women want everything men have and more. Because they want to be BETTER. That is absolute nonsense. When you take away responsibilities from men, you belittle men. It makes them feel like they are not wanted/needed, because women can do it all.

I have had this happen to me: I was working for a company and I realized that they didn’t need me anymore. No one was utilizing my abilities, or honestly, paying much attention to me, so I honestly wasn’t surprised when I got a pink slip (part of this was my fault. I didn’t want to work anymore….that was about the time I started being a full-time stay at home mom) Why are we giving men the pink slip? Women are pushing them away and giving them little respect. How rude.

I have complete respect for Hubby and I have no desire to take away his responsibilities. It makes him a better person! It also (surprise, surprise) makes ME a better person! I don’t HAVE to do everything. And honestly that is a relief.

This won’t convince any of those women who part of the Ordain Women movement. I have tried to talk to a friend who was involved in this movement, and she wouldn’t listen. She had answers to all my questions. Unfortunately, she was still wrong (I would say that this is my opinion, but it is just truth). Please take a moment to consider that perhaps Heavenly Father (God) has a reason for the way He established His church, and that He did it for the benefit of all. Please trust what the leaders of our Church are saying to be the best thing for EVERYONE right now. Have a little faith in Men. They aren’t all bad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

