In which I accidentally make Chicken (Noodle) Soup

I know what you are thinking….

How do you accidentally make SOUP? Did you TRIP and the canned soup magically spilled into a pot on the stove??

Nope. It all has to do with a loooooooooooooong day yesterday.

We had church and I had to teach Sunday School with a meeting after the three-hour block. That I was going to have to take my kids to, because Hubby had to count the tithing money and there is no way we are letting a three and one year old in a small office where they are trying to organize checks…it would have been chaos.

Only there were a couple of hiccups.

I was GROUCHY. All day. I’m not sure what my problem was, but I was CRANKY.

#1 pooped his pants in Sacrament meeting. He is completely potty trained (even nights) but he CANNOT figure out the pooping thing. It got on the pew, that is how explosive it was. No more about poop.

I had a class to teach, so Hubby had to take #1 home and change him. Unfortunately he wet his pants earlier that day so he was completely out of church clothes, so Hubby just had to do the best he could.

Our sweet Relief Society president (that is the women’s auxiliary in our church) took #2 so I could teach without having to hold him the entire time (he didn’t want to be put down).

Somehow I got through my lesson on Abraham and Lot (people even complimented me afterwards!) and we made it through Relief Society. My meeting after church went okay, except #1 decided that was a good time to practice burping (in the dead quiet lulls of the meeting) and both of them were fed up with sitting still and hungry.

Finally we got home where #1 pooped his pants again (so I lied about poop). I kind of lost it at that point. Completely. I changed #1 and put him to bed sans dinner (it was about 4pm) and I fed #2 and put him to bed. Then I crawled into bed and forgot all about the whole chicken I had stuck in the crockpot that morning.

I remembered by the time Hubby came home and put it (and the broth) in the fridge thinking I would make soup for dinner on Tuesday night.

After that crazy day, I woke up with a headache that was threatening to turn into a migraine. It was all my fault. Copious amounts of oreos and cupcakes last week kept me on a constant sugar rush. I was going through withdrawals….But I refuse to eat sugar (except fruit) today as I really need the detox, or I will continue to be cranky. My family doesn’t need that.

Except maybe a slice of that Apple/Pear Rustic Pie with caramel sauce that I made on Saturday….But only ONE slice.

I ended up making Chicken (Noodle) Soup. Because what other kind of food will make you feel better? (that isn’t sugar?)

Em’s Chicken (Noodle) Soup

Ingredients:

1 whole cooked chicken, meat removed from the bones and chopped into bite sized pieces (I save most of the breast meat for other things like salads, because it can be a lot of meat otherwise. Just the leg, back and wing meat is PLENTY)

chicken broth from making the chicken (make sure to skim off the fat) + enough water/bullion to make 5 cups. (if you used a rotisserie chicken or cooked chicken breasts, simply use chicken broth)

1 tbs olive oil or butter

1 onion (diced)

2 carrots (peeled and diced)

2 ribs of celery (cut into small pieces)

1 bunch of kale, cut from the stems and torn into bite sized pieces

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp sage

1/2 tsp Rosemary

1 tsp thyme

1/2 tsp parsley

Salt and pepper to taste

1 cup orzo or egg noodles (optional if you are serving it over mashed potatoes. I do both because I really, REALLY like noodles and mashed potatoes)

4 cups mashed potatoes (optional, if you put noodles in it)

Method

1. Heat up the olive oil on a large pot on the stove, about medium-medium high heat. Add the garlic, carrots, onion, celery and kale to saute for a few minutes. Just until the kale wilts, really. Then add the Chicken broth and spices and cook for about 15 minutes or until the carrots are soft.

2. Add the Chicken and orzo and cook for another 10 minutes or until the orzo is done. Check the seasonings (taste it…do you like it?) add salt and pepper to taste.

3. Serve over about a 1/2 cup of mashed potatoes, if desired. I had leftover garlic mashed potatoes in the fridge and that was pretty tasty.

Just FYI, to cook a chicken: Wash the chicken inside and out. Dry it with paper towels. Rub olive oil all over it, then put on seasonings to taste. I like paprika, salt and pepper. Toss it in your crockpot on high for about 4-6 hours or low 6-8. Just make sure the meat isn’t pink anymore. SAVE THE BROTH (you know, that liquid that gathers around your chicken when you cook it…). If you want, you can also add some onion, celery and carrots to flavor the broth, but I didn’t bother this time.

Here is a bad picture of my soup:

wpid-wp-1394474570403.jpg

It was pretty tasty and helped my migrainy-headache. I still took some IBprophen, but I do feel a bit better after eating the soup.

By the way, #1 broke my camera (luckily an old point and shoot, so nothing expensive) so I’m forced to use my phone to take pics at the moment. I want to save up for a DSLR so I can be all fancy, but that is going to take me a while.

Leave a Reply

