Mom Funk – and how I got out of it today

I did NOT want to get up this morning.

No seriously. I didn’t get to bed until about 11-11:30pm last night and I was wide awake at 4:30 am. This has been going on ALL WEEK. For some reason I’m having trouble relaxing. I really wanted to go back to sleep, but Hubby gets up at 5am and our little electric face scrubber thingy (yes that is a technical term) is on the fritz and kept randomly turning on and off. I finally gave up and started reading my scriptures.

After Hubby left, I seriously considered not getting out of bed. Just lying there with my Tablet and ignoring my children. But I knew that wasn’t going to cut it. So I started praying.

That usually helps. Honestly, all I prayed for was the ability to get out of bed and function for my children and husband. After I prayed, I dragged myself out of bed and hopped in the shower. I couldn’t even think of trying to work out this morning. (Actually we are going to walk to the library later and that will count for now).

Even though I didn’t want to, I did my hair and put make-up on. At least I could look marginally good even though I felt like crap. I also got dressed, even though those sweat pants were looking mighty tempting….

Oddly enough I kept thinking about something my stake president said on the Saturday Night session of Stake Conference*. He encouraged us to do the following for a week:

  • Kneel in purposeful prayer, pause for ten seconds and listen
  • Read your scriptures for a bit longer than you normally do and have a writing utensil in hand to record impressions
  • Have one meaningful Gospel discussion everyday
  • Abstain from media that isn’t uplifting

We normally do this, and I already read my scriptures from anywhere from 30mins to an 1hr. But I needed to start having a writing utensil on hand and I could be more purposeful in my prayers. As I pondered over these instructions, I suddenly realized this morning that I had decided to accept this challenge.

wpid-20140220_092544.jpg

Yesterday I read an article written by a member of my church who is also condemning the leaders of my church. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is different in that we believe that it is completely run by direct inspiration from God. And that our leaders (His prophet, especially) are the mouthpieces of the Lord. When someone is condemning those leaders, they don’t truly understand our church.

It made me really sad. I have found great joy and happiness in my religion. Some days (like today) it is all that gets me out of bed in the morning. It hurts to watch another member of the church publicly condemning actions of our leaders, who are chosen by God, as they are depriving themselves of joy and keeping others from having joy. It also gave me a very dark (unhappy, damping) feeling. I had to read my scriptures for a while before I felt better.

The only thing in my life that can pull me out of a Mom Funk is immersion in the scriptures. The challenge my Stake President set forth will help me achieve that goal. And it will help bring light and joy to my life.

Just remember that.

* Our church is divided into congregations called “Wards”. 6 or 7 (this varies) Wards  make up a Stake. We have leadership for both the Wards and Stake. Twice a year we get together as a Stake and have a conference with a meeting on Saturday night and Sunday Morning)

One thought on “Mom Funk – and how I got out of it today

Leave a Reply

